Best Organic Formula: Holle Infant Formula Review

Holle Infant Formula Stage 2 Review

When Max was six months old, I started researching all of the different formula brands. I was overwhelmed by the amount of choices on the market. Not only are there a million brands to choose from but, even within each brand, there are a ton of options to consider: iron-fortified, DHA & ARA, probiotics, prebiotics, sensitive, gentle, lactose-relief, etc., etc.

It’s enough to make your head spin.

However, there was one thing I knew for sure: I only wanted to buy organic formula. Since this would be Max’s main form of sustenance for the foreseeable future, I wanted to find the best available option (besides breastmilk, that is).

During my research, I came across this article, published by The Cornucopia Institute. The author gives an in-depth discussion regarding common formula ingredients and the potential side effects of each additive. She ends her review with the finding that Holle infant formula and HiPP may be better than American formula brands.

Intrigued, I looked into Holle and found almost universally positive reviews. Unlike most American manufactured formulas, Holle has no additives and does not contain any genetically modified or synthetically derived ingredients.

Sound great right? The only problem was: Holle isn’t approved by the FDA to be sold in America.

Not to be deterred, I told Mr. C about my dilemma. It just so happened that he knew someone who was traveling to Germany, where Holle is manufactured, so he asked his friend to pick up a few boxes.

If you choose Holle and go with a cow-based formula, the choices are simple. There are four different stages based on the age of your baby. The recommendation for each stage is as follows:

Stage 1 – from birth;
Stage 2 – as of the 6th month;
Stage 3 – as of the 10th month; and
Stage 4 – as of the 12th month.

At that point, Max was over 6 months old so I ordered Holle Stage 2.

Preparing Holle is also pretty straightforward. The box comes with a scoop and the ratio is one flat scoop per ounce of water. Every 3 1/2 scoops and 3 1/2 ounces of water results in an extra half ounce of formula. For example, in order to make 8 ounces of formula, I use 7 scoops of powder with 7 ounces of water.

Prior to using up the boxes I received from Mr. C’s friend, I looked for alternate sources where I could purchase the formula. I found an online retailer based in Germany, that sells Holle. Shipping is quite expensive, but may be worthwhile if you buy in bulk.

Of course, there are several things to consider when ordering formula from overseas:

1. Delivery Time: Delivery times may be somewhat unreliable. The package took about 3 1/2 weeks to arrive to NY.

2. Customs: There is a possibility that customs may open a box or two to ensure that the contents actually contain infant formula. Luckily, I did not have that issue.

3. Irradiation: Obviously, infant formula should not be irradiated. The box was shipped with the label shown below:

do not irradiate holle infant formula

You can see the stamp “X-Ray Checked SPX” which shows that the package was x-rayed for security purposes. However, I checked and irradiation to control for food borne pathogens requires marking with a radura symbol.

According to the FDA, regarding cabinet x-ray systems (the type typically used for airport screening):

There are no known adverse effects from eating food, drinking beverages, using medicine, or applying cosmetics that have been irradiated by a cabinet x-ray system used for security screening. The radiation dose typically received by a cabinet x-ray system is 1 millirad or less. The average dose rate from background radiation is 360 millirad per year. The minimum dose used in food irradiation for food preservation or destruction of parasites or pathogens is 30,000 rad.

In sum, I wouldn’t worry too much about radiation from a cabinet x-ray system.

In my opinion, the only downside to Holle is that it contains palm oil. Palm oil is considered a controversial ingredient in formula. It has the potential to cause intestinal discomfort for babies as it may turn into a soapy substance in the small intestines leading to hard stools and reduced bone mass.

However, Max did not seem to react poorly to the palm oil and his poops continued to look and smell like breast milk poop.

Conclusion: After having used Holle formula for the past four months, I cannot recommend this brand highly enough!

The formula itself is somewhat rich, creamy and slightly sweet. I have heard that many formulas do not taste/smell appealing and I can say that Holle’s infant formula really does taste good.

More importantly, though, is that Max loves drinking it and is thriving on it. Nothing beats breastmilk but I feel assured knowing that Holle is one of the next best alternatives.

UPDATE 03/31/2016: The biggest concern when purchasing European brand formula is finding a trustworthy and reliable vendor. I have partnered with two excellent vendors that sell Holle, HiPP and Lebenswert formula to the US.

Organic Start (formerly known as Organic Munchkin) is based in NY and is, currently, the only seller of Töpfer in the US. If you need smaller quantities or your formula ASAP, please check out: Where to Buy Holle Formula in the USA.

Organicbabyfood24 is based in Germany. If you want to pay the lowest prices and buy in bulk (and you are good at planning about 2-3 weeks ahead), please check out: Where to Buy Holle Formula from Germany to read about my recommendations and vetting process.

UPDATE 08/08/2016: I have since written a comprehensive Best European Organic Baby Formula Guide that you should read before making any decisions on what brand to buy!

Did you like my review? If so, please don’t forget to comment below, subscribe, and spread the love by sharing!

Amber Artisans Teething Necklace Review
Kiinde Kozii Breastmilk Warmer and Bottle Warmer Review

256 Comments

  1. Anna October 17, 2014
    • Mommy to Max October 17, 2014
      • Dobrinka Dimitrova May 12, 2017
        • Mommy to Max May 12, 2017
          • Dobrinka Dimitrova May 19, 2017
          • Mommy to Max May 20, 2017
    • Liza March 30, 2015
      • Mommy to Max March 30, 2015
      • Melissa January 5, 2016
  2. Jessica October 30, 2014
    • Mommy to Max October 30, 2014
  3. Sandra January 10, 2015
    • Mommy to Max January 10, 2015
    • tavia white April 22, 2017
  4. Vidhya January 29, 2015
    • Mommy to Max January 29, 2015
  5. Nicole February 2, 2015
    • Mommy to Max February 2, 2015
      • Nicole February 2, 2015
      • carriesilva March 16, 2015
        • Mommy to Max March 17, 2015
  6. csdmom February 2, 2015
    • Mommy to Max February 2, 2015
  7. Natalie February 17, 2015
    • Mommy to Max February 17, 2015
  8. k007603 February 26, 2015
    • Mommy to Max February 26, 2015
  9. Olivia February 27, 2015
    • Mommy to Max February 27, 2015
  10. Noemi March 2, 2015
    • Mommy to Max March 2, 2015
    • Liza March 30, 2015
  11. Laura March 3, 2015
  12. Noemi March 4, 2015
    • Mommy to Max March 5, 2015
  13. Debbie March 16, 2015
    • Mommy to Max March 17, 2015
      • Christina April 4, 2015
    • alan April 16, 2015
  14. noemi March 17, 2015
  15. Debbie March 17, 2015
    • Mommy to Max March 17, 2015
      • Debbie March 17, 2015
        • Moon May 23, 2015
  16. candice March 18, 2015
    • Mommy to Max March 18, 2015
    • mindfulspender May 20, 2016
      • Mommy to Max May 20, 2016
      • onefunmomy August 30, 2016
  17. kherry March 19, 2015
    • Mommy to Max March 19, 2015
    • alan April 16, 2015
  18. Jill March 31, 2015
  19. Noemi April 2, 2015
  20. alan April 16, 2015
  21. patty April 24, 2015
    • Mommy to Max April 24, 2015
    • Jodie January 23, 2017
  22. chikus April 26, 2015
    • Mommy to Max April 27, 2015
      • chikus04 April 27, 2015
        • Mommy to Max April 27, 2015
          • Chikus04 April 27, 2015
  23. candice April 27, 2015
  24. Stacy Harper May 14, 2015
  25. allyshea June 3, 2015
    • Mommy to Max June 4, 2015
      • Christina June 4, 2015
  26. Christina June 4, 2015
  27. Raavi June 15, 2015
  28. Monu June 17, 2015
  29. tiffany June 27, 2015
    • Mommy to Max June 29, 2015
  30. Annie July 6, 2015
    • nor August 3, 2015
      • Melissa March 9, 2016
        • Mommy to Max March 9, 2016
          • Melissa March 21, 2016
          • Mommy to Max March 21, 2016
          • Melissa March 21, 2016
          • Melissa March 21, 2016
  31. Jean July 16, 2015
    • kamila July 28, 2015
  32. Jen Petropoulos July 17, 2015
  33. adriane August 3, 2015
    • Lia September 6, 2015
  34. Angie August 23, 2015
    • Mommy to Max August 23, 2015
  35. Jill August 27, 2015
    • Melissa January 5, 2016
  36. pallavi September 15, 2015
    • Mommy to Max September 15, 2015
    • Katie Amador October 23, 2015
  37. Jasmine September 16, 2015
    • Mommy to Max September 16, 2015
      • Jasmine September 24, 2015
        • Ericka tristan October 10, 2015
      • Ericka tristan October 10, 2015
        • Mommy to Max October 11, 2015
        • Jasmine October 15, 2015
        • Mommy to Max October 28, 2015
  38. Holle Chile (@HolleChile) October 9, 2015
    • Mommy to Max October 11, 2015
  39. Mary October 18, 2015
  40. Mariya October 22, 2015
  41. Mariya October 22, 2015
  42. Jillian October 26, 2015
    • Mommy to Max October 27, 2015
  43. Rochelle Stein October 27, 2015
    • Mommy to Max October 28, 2015
      • Melissa March 9, 2016
  44. Yolanda October 31, 2015
    • Mommy to Max October 31, 2015
      • Yolanda October 31, 2015
      • Yolanda November 18, 2015
      • Yolanda November 18, 2015
        • Mommy to Max November 18, 2015
        • Melissa January 5, 2016
          • Yolanda January 8, 2016
  45. Christopher November 3, 2015
    • Mariya November 3, 2015
      • Marry November 22, 2015
        • Mommy to Max November 22, 2015
          • Ana March 21, 2016
          • Mommy to Max March 21, 2016
        • Melissa January 5, 2016
      • Melissa January 8, 2016
    • Mommy to Max November 3, 2015
      • Christopher November 3, 2015
        • Mommy to Max November 3, 2015
        • Melissa January 5, 2016
  46. michelle November 12, 2015
  47. Jen November 14, 2015
    • Mommy to Max November 14, 2015
  48. Michelle Gregory November 18, 2015
    • Mommy to Max November 18, 2015
    • Melissa January 5, 2016
      • Mommy to Max January 5, 2016
  49. Grandma B November 20, 2015
  50. Jen November 22, 2015
    • Mommy to Max November 22, 2015
  51. Jenny Chowdhury December 1, 2015
    • Mommy to Max December 4, 2015
      • mindfulspender May 20, 2016
        • Mommy to Max May 20, 2016
          • mindfulspender May 20, 2016
  52. Kate December 13, 2015
    • Mommy to Max December 14, 2015
      • Kate December 14, 2015
        • Jennifer December 15, 2015
  53. Ann December 23, 2015
  54. Zarah Bentley December 31, 2015
    • Mommy to Max January 4, 2016
  55. Christopher January 7, 2016
    • Mommy to Max January 8, 2016
      • Jennifer Lorys January 8, 2016
        • Mommy to Max January 8, 2016
  56. Christopher January 8, 2016
    • Yolanda January 8, 2016
      • Mommy to Max January 8, 2016
      • Christopher January 8, 2016
        • Yolanda January 8, 2016
          • Mommy to Max January 8, 2016
    • Mommy to Max January 8, 2016
      • Christopher January 8, 2016
        • Mommy to Max January 8, 2016
  57. Christopher January 11, 2016
    • Melissa January 11, 2016
    • Melissa January 11, 2016
  58. Danielle January 12, 2016
    • Christopher January 12, 2016
      • Mommy to Max January 12, 2016
        • Christopher January 13, 2016
          • Danielle January 18, 2016
      • Melissa January 13, 2016
    • Yolanda January 12, 2016
  59. Christopher January 19, 2016
  60. Jennifer Lorys February 18, 2016
    • Mommy to Max February 18, 2016
  61. Natural Baby Organics February 21, 2016
  62. Chris F Anzaldi March 11, 2016
  63. Lisa.S March 17, 2016
  64. organicbaby15 March 25, 2016
  65. Nancy March 26, 2016
  66. Demetra April 25, 2016
    • Mommy to Max April 26, 2016
      • Demetra April 26, 2016
        • Mommy to Max April 26, 2016
          • Demetra April 26, 2016
          • Rozi February 1, 2017
  67. Kerstin May 2, 2016
    • Mommy to Max May 2, 2016
  68. Kim May 9, 2016
  69. Demetra May 14, 2016
  70. forderdeanna May 27, 2016
  71. Mila May 30, 2016
    • forderdeanna May 30, 2016
    • Mommy to Max May 30, 2016
  72. Olena Beloous July 1, 2016
    • Melissa July 1, 2016
  73. Chris July 1, 2016
    • Melissa July 1, 2016
  74. Nicole July 29, 2016
    • Kerstin July 29, 2016
    • Mommy to Max July 29, 2016
    • Marie September 2, 2016
  75. Melissa August 8, 2016
  76. margee August 23, 2016
    • Mommy to Max August 24, 2016
  77. Wendy August 24, 2016
  78. Amanda Clark August 26, 2016
  79. Mayra September 2, 2016
  80. Elis September 15, 2016
  81. Mary September 23, 2016
  82. formuland September 23, 2016
  83. Mary Pisciotta October 20, 2016
    • Mommy to Max October 20, 2016
  84. Christopher Walters December 29, 2016
  85. Joanna January 11, 2017
    • Mommy to Max January 11, 2017
  86. Marisol January 31, 2017
    • Mommy to Max January 31, 2017
  87. Rozi February 1, 2017
  88. AP February 11, 2017
    • Mommy to Max February 13, 2017
  89. Zee February 13, 2017
    • Mommy to Max February 13, 2017
  90. Hbulls February 20, 2017
    • Mommy to Max February 21, 2017
  91. Yuliya April 2, 2017
    • Mommy to Max April 3, 2017
  92. Ana May 1, 2017
    • Mommy to Max May 2, 2017

Share Your Thoughts